Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comparing Laws of Multiple States
You may be asked to compare laws from multiple states on a specific issue. Before you spend hours compiling state laws, use the below resources to research whether someone has already compiled a survey of state laws on your topic. If you locate a survey, it is very important to review and update the information.
50 State Surveys
Lexis 50 State Surveys
This searchable database contains surveys of state laws and regulations on a range of topics.
Westlaw 50 State Surveys
Formerly known as the National Survey of State Laws, the 50 State Surveys provides searchable surveys of state laws on a broad range of topics. Browse by material type from the home page and select either statutes or regulations (depending on which you need) and then look on the right side for 50 State Surveys.
The National Survey of State Laws is also available in print in the Reserve Section of the Library. In print, there is a comprehensive table of contents, and each section contains a table listing each jurisdiction, citations, and details about the particular statute.
Bloomberg Law includes "chart builders" for a variety of practice areas, allowing you to create surveys of state laws for specific subjects.
Subject Compilations of State Laws
HeinOnline - Subject Compilations of State Laws
This invaluable set is published annually. Each volume provides citations and information about law review articles, books, and websites which contain surveys of state laws. The compilation is organized by subject, so you may need to try multiple possible terms. The volumes are not cumulative, so you will need to check the volumes for each year, starting with the most recent and working backward.
It is available online through HeinOnline. The online version has a keyword search function, but the best way to use this set is to search by subject term. To see the list of subject terms, click on the link located directly below the search template that says: "Browse the Subjects."
A print version is also available in the Reserve section of the Law Library.
National Conference of State Legislatures
Lastly, before you start searching the codes of all 50 states, you probably should conduct a search on the internet. Many advocacy groups have useful compilations.