Skip to Main Content

Flex JD: What can the Law Library do for you?

A guide to online resources and services available through the law library.

Online study aids

Use our online study aids to prep for classes and exams, including:

Quimbee: Content for most law school courses. Case briefs, outlines, videos, practice questions, practice exams, and more. Complete this form to receive a registration link.

Lexis Digital Library: Over 300 ebooks on a wide variety of legal subjects to help you study for classes and exams, including the Short & Happy Guides, Nutshell series, Questions & Answers series, Understanding series, and more.

CALI: Interactive tutorials written by professors on numerous legal topics. Contact us for a registration code.

Check out our Study Aids Guide for more information on online study aids.

Consult with a librarian

Consult with a librarian for research help for your:

  • Papers for seminar classes
  • Independent study projects
  • Law journal articles
  • Internship or externship research projects
  • Bluebooking questions

Email us at LawReference@seattleu.edu. We are happy to help over email or Zoom.

Please don’t hesitate to reach out. We look forward to working with you!

Library databases

Use library databases to access legal resources, news, and scholarly articles:

Law Library A-Z Databases: Includes Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg, Casetext, Fastcase, ElgarOnline, Foreign Law Guide, HeinOnline, Law360, Oxford Handbooks, PLI Plus, and more.

SU Library A-Z Databases: Includes news databases (such as New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and Washington Post), interdisciplinary databases, video collections, and more.

Need a password?

Contact LawReference@seattleu.edu with questions about passwords for library databases (including Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg, CALI, etc.).

1L Casebooks

The library has copies of the required casebooks for every 1L class, including Flex JD classes. Casebooks are available for 2-hour checkout. If you live too far from campus to visit the library in person, library staff can scan and email a chapter or limited number of pages to you. (Unfortunately, we are not able to acquire ebook versions of casebooks due to high pricing and restrictive licenses). Contact library staff to request a scan.

Please note that the library casebooks are meant to serve as an emergency backup (for example, when the semester is starting but your books have not arrived yet, or if you want to access your casebooks while on campus and don't want to carry all of your books to school with you). They are not intended to serve as a replacement for purchasing your own casebooks.

Ebooks

The SU library collections include many ebooks that all patrons, including Flex JD students, can access from anywhere. To find ebooks through the SU libraries, use the library catalog and follow these steps:

  • Search by keywords, author, and/or title. Select Advanced Search Options to see all available search fields and filters.
  • Use the Lemieux and Law Libraries search filter to limit your search to items available from the SU libraries.
  • After running your search, use the filters on the right side of the screen to limit your search results to: Availability > Available electronically at SU and Materials > ebooks.

You should now have a list of ebooks available through the SU libraries. Click on the title for a particular book and use the link under View Online to start reading!

Need a book in print?

Ask us for help! We may be able to scan the specific pages or chapter that you need, or help you find a copy at a library in your area.

Need access to a local law library?

Contact us and we will help determine whether access is available at a law library in your community.