Law Library Scavenger Hunt (2024)

If you are a Flex JD student and are not able to visit the Law Library in person, we still have helpful resources and services that you can access online! Complete the Flex JD scavenger hunt questions below and email your answers to lawreference@seattleu.edu.

The deadline for completing the scavenger hunt and sending in your answers is October 1, 2024. All Flex JD students who complete the scavenger hunt will be entered into a drawing to win a $25 gift card to the local coffee shop of your choice.

1. Visit the Law Library website at https://law.seattleu.edu/library/. A lot of helpful information and resources are located here. Scroll down to Key Resources and find the link for Study Aids. (You may want to bookmark this guide so you can easily locate it for future reference.) What are the top three resources listed under "Finding Online Study Aids"?
    
2. The Aspen Learning Library includes a large collection of online study aids to help you prepare for your classes and exams. Log into the Aspen Learning Library and locate a copy of Emanuel Law Outlines for Constitutional Law, by Steven L. Emanuel. According to the Preface on page 9, what "special features" does this book include?
    
3. Return to the Study Aids guide on the Law Library website and navigate to the section on "Where can I find case briefs?" Which three resources can SU Law students use to access case briefs and summaries?
    
4. The Law Library provides access to Westlaw, Lexis, and many additional online databases. Return to the Law Library home page and find the link for Catalog & Databases. Click on the link for Legal Databases. (You may want to bookmark this guide so you can easily locate it for future reference.) Browse the list of 33 databases available to you as an SU Law student. What is the one database listed under "E" on this list?
    
5. Law librarians are here to help with any research questions you may have during your time at law school! Return to the Law Library home page and find the link for Meet the Team. Find the four Reference Librarians—Kyle Brown, Kara Dunn, LeighAnne Thompson, and Stephanie Wilson. How many of the reference librarians are wearing glasses in their profile photos?
    
6. To contact a librarian, send an email to our shared inbox. A link to this email is available in the blue box on the library homepage, where it says “Need research help?” What is the email address to use if you need research help or want to contact a librarian?