Law Library Scavenger Hunt (2024)

Complete the scavenger hunt questions below and email your answers to lawreference@seattleu.edu.The deadline for completing the scavenger hunt and sending in your answers is October 1, 2024. All students who complete the scavenger hunt will be entered into a drawing to win a $25 gift card to Boon Boona Coffee!

1. Visit the Law Library (main entrance is on the second floor of the law school) and locate the Reserve area (to your right, just past the big Circulation desk). This is where you will find many useful study aids and other resources to help you prepare for your classes and exams. Find a copy of the book Property, by Barlow Burke & Joseph Snoe (7th ed. 2023) (it is part of the Examples & Explanations series). To locate this book, you can search the law library catalog or ask the friendly folks at the Circulation desk for help. What is the main topic covered on page 77 of this book?
    
2. The librarian faculty offices are also located in the Reserve area. Locate the offices for Stephanie, Kara, LeighAnne, and Kyle. We are here to help with any research questions you may have. List the office number for any one of the four librarians, and please say hi if our doors are open!
    
3. Printers and scanners are located in the Document Delivery Center (201C), near the main entrance to the library. Students automatically receive a printing credit of $40.00 per year. If you need to add additional funds to your printing account, check with the IT Department on the third floor of the law school. Locate the Document Delivery Center. What is the scanning password listed on the whiteboard above the copy machine?
    
4. Study rooms are located on the second, third, and fourth floors of the library. You can reserve study rooms from the Law Library’s website: https://law.seattleu.edu/library/. Visit study room 305 on the third floor. What is the name of the donor listed on the door to this study room?
    
5. The library has single occupancy all-gender restrooms on the third floor, in the corner near the elevator. Find the third floor restrooms. How many all-gender restrooms are located here?
    
6. There are tables, individual desks, armchairs, and sofas located throughout the library for you to use while studying. Visit the fourth floor of the library and check out the south end, where the large tables and windows are located. What is this area of the library called?
    
7. Need a break from studying? There are several puzzle stations located throughout the library and a coloring station on the third floor, for when you need a quick mental break. The library also has a Leisure Reading Collection located on the second floor, next to the stairwell, if you are looking for a fun read. Locate the Leisure Reading Collection and list the title and author of one of the books currently displayed on the top shelf.
    
8. A lot of helpful information and resources are located on the Law Library website. Visit the website at https://law.seattleu.edu/library/ and find the research guide on Study Aids. (You may want to bookmark this guide so you can easily locate it for future reference.) Navigate to the section on "Where can I find case briefs?" Which three resources can SU Law students use to access case briefs and summaries?
    
9. From the Law Library website, locate the "A-Z Databases" page, which shows the 33 legal databases available through the Law Library. It is available under the link for Catalogs & Databases > Legal Databases. (You may want to bookmark this page for future reference.) Which three databases are listed as "Featured Databases"?
    
10. The librarians are here to help! If you would like to contact a librarian, you can stop by our offices or send an email to our shared inbox. What is the email address to use if you need research help or want to contact a librarian? (Hint, you can find this email address on the Law Library website.)