LawLibGuides: Moot Court : Finding Briefs and Oral Arguments

Briefs

If you have found a decision relevant to your issue on appeal and you would like to review the underlying appellate briefs, from Westlaw you can try accessing the Filings tab at the top of the case, or from Lexis you can use the Related Court Materials section to link to any available briefs.

Westlaw and Lexis have collections of Supreme Court and appellate briefs.

Lexis: From the Content tab on the homepage, select Briefs, Pleadings & Motions
Westlaw: From the Content types tab on the homepage, select Briefs.

Past Competitions

National Moot Court Competition
This database offers digital access to the records, briefs, and related organizational materials from the 1st to the most recent (1950-current) annual National Moot Court Competitions.

Recordings of Oral Arguments

Oyez Project: U.S. Supreme Court Oral Arguments
MP3 Audio files in streaming format – complete coverage from 1995 to present; selective coverage from 1955 to 1994. Offers transcript synchronized and searchable audio.
US Ct of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit Audio and Video
Contains audio and video of oral arguments before the Ninth Circuit. Search by case name, number, hearing location, and/or hearing date. Coverage starts Jan. 2007 Videos may also be accessed via the 9th Circuit's YouTube channel, https://www.youtube.com/user/9thcirc/videos
TVW: Washington Supreme Court Oral Arguments
The Washington State Public Affairs TV Network (TVW) records and broadcasts the workings of the Washington State government, including oral arguments presented at the Washington Supreme Court. Covers 1996 to present. The search functionality is limited and you cannot easily search by topic or keyword. Instead, start from an opinion you found elsewhere. Use information in it or from other sources to identify the date oral arguments were held, then use the filters on the Archives page to search by date and category "Supreme Court."

Argument Transcripts

Lexis US Supreme Court Transcripts
Database begins with October 1979 term. You can search this database by keyword or case name.
Westlaw US Supreme Court Oral Argument Transcripts
Coverage begins with the 1990/1991 term. You can search this database by keyword, case name, or court.
US Supreme Court argument transcripts
The US Supreme court posts transcripts to its website the same day an argument is heard by the court. Coverage extends back into the 1960s. Audio recordings, starting in 2010, are also available.