LawLibGuides: New Student Guide: Home

Welcome New Students!

Password Information

Access to Westlaw, Lexis, CALI, and Office 365

New 1L, MLS, LLM, SJD, and Transfer or Visiting Students:

Registration information for Lexis, Bloomberg Law, and CALI is available on the Law School Orientation site (under Library Services).
Your Westlaw registration key will be emailed to you before classes begin.
Download MS Office 365 for free. Go to www.office.com, sign in with your SU credentials, then click the “Install Office” button on the upper right-hand side of the page. For any technology questions, visit Technology & Media Services in Sullivan Hall, Room 309.
Questions? Contact our reference desk.

Studying in the Library

Procedures

Individual and group study:

The 3rd and 4th floor study areas are open daily. Check our hours for current information. "Reading Room" means places where you can study.
Reading rooms include tables, couches, and individual study carrels. All are available on a first-come basis (no reservation needed).
Study rooms are available for group study (two or more people). Study rooms need to be reserved in advance (your reservation cannot exceed 2 hours).

Search the Catalog, Find Research Guides

Catalog:

All print and e-books are listed in the law library catalog. You can check books out in person with your student ID card or online.
Learn to search the catalog with this short video.

Research Guides:

Our librarians created online guides for researching many topics; we also have guides about career planning resources and other areas.
Watch this video to learn more.
Research Guides are located here.

Study Aids & Resources

Use the Study Aids guide to browse all available study aids by series (Questions & Answers, Nutshells, etc.), by subject, or for exam prep.

Aspen Learning Library:

Aspen Learning Library provides access to online study aids including Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Crunchtime and Law Outlines, Glannon Guides, and Casenote Legal Briefs.

PracticePerfect

PracticePerfect is a video library with core legal concepts and quizzes, designed to complement most major casebooks.

If you already have a Casebook Connect account: Log in at Casebook Connect. PracticePerfect should appear on your bookshelf. If not, ensure you’re registered with your SU email and your account is verified.

If you don’t have an account:

Register at AspenPublishing.com with your SU email.
Verify your account.
Log in to Casebook Connect. PracticePerfect should appear on your bookshelf automatically.

Need help? Contact Customer Support.

Digital Library

Digital Library lets you read and annotate casebooks and study aids from a variety of publishers, including Questions & Answers, Understanding, Nutshell, and the Short & Happy study aid series.

CALI

Short for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction, CALI provides online study lessons and podcasts about all law school course topics. You will need a registration code to access CALI. Send an email to lawreference@seattleu.edu requesting the CALI code to register.

Other Online Resources

Library Homepage and Catalog

Our library homepage is the access point to find e-books, online resources, and print materials in the SU Law Library, SU's Lemieux Library, and libraries in our inter-library loan systems. Online items can be checked out with your SU email address and password.

Law Library Research Guides

We maintain unique online guides about researching specific topics and to help you research successfully in externships, summer jobs, and as law journal staff.

Law Databases

The Law Library also provides you with specialized research databases. View the complete list on our databases page.

Print Study Aids

For information about print study aids, see our print study aids guide.

Exam Taking Resources

Prepare for exams with our exam taking resources guide.

The Law Library has one copy of the following:

Required first year casebooks
Required upper division casebooks (Evidence, Constitutional Law, Professional Responsibility)
Bar success prescribed curriculum required casebooks
All required summer semester 2025 casebooks
All required fall semester 2025 casebooks (pilot - we will try to expand further spring semester)

The above can be checked out for 2 hours at the Circulation Desk. The law library does not acquire open access casebooks (they are freely available online) or supplementary course material.

Check the catalog for older casebooks and non-textbook titles.

Search Summit to see if it is available at one of our partner libraries.

Request via ILL from other libraries.

Check out the library’s print and online study aids collection as a supplement (not a substitute for casebooks).

Ask the reference librarians for help finding cases, statutes, and other materials: lawreference@seattleu.edu

See the library's Casebook & Textbook Guide for more information.

Printing, Photocopying, and Scanning

Library Printers

Printers:

Take your laptop to the Law School Technology and Media Services to have it configured for the libary printers.
Technology is located in room 311 of the law school. Call 206-398-4178 to schedule a time; check their hours before visiting.
Ask them to configure the DDC and 3rd floor library printer. This process will take about ten minutes.
Printers are located in the Document Delivery Center (DDC) (just inside the library entrance) and on the 3rd floor of the law library.

Scanning, Copying:

The Document Delivery Center (DDC) has one scanner / copier for student use. Scanning is free. Photocopies are ten cents per page.
Students can also use the main campus Copy Center located across the cul de sac from the law school.

Our reference librarians are available to help you in person or via email, Zoom, or phone (206-398-4225).

We are in the library and available online during these hours: (check for holiday closures and any changes):

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Contact: lawreference@seattleu.edu / 206-398-4225

Our circulation staff can help you check out materials, troubleshoot database problems, sign up for a study room, or find material.

Contact: lawcirc@seattleu.edu / 206-398-4221