Free & Low Cost Legal Research

Search federal and state case law for free. Includes published and unpublished opinions from 1700s to present (coverage varies by jurisdiction).

Search federal and state case law for free. Includes published opinions from 1950's to present (coverage varies by jurisdiction). Select "Case law" > "Select courts" to view and select your jurisdictions.

Free access to slip opinions from the Washington State Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.

Free access to all published opinions from the Washington State Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.

Free database for searching federal court dockets and documents pulled from PACER. Coverage is not comprehensive, but this is an excellent starting point. See Background section at bottom of RECAP website for more information.

Official database for searching and viewing federal court dockets and case documents. Small fees apply.

Best for municipal, district, and appellate court dockets. Includes option to search across all Washington courts by party name.

Search and view dockets for all Washington Superior Courts except King and Pierce County.

Search and view dockets from King County Superior Court for free. Low-cost options for purchasing and viewing case documents online are available as well.

Search and view dockets from Pierce County Superior Court for free. Attorneys can register for a subscription to view, print, and download case documents.

Free access to briefs from the Washington State Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.

Low cost online access to court documents from selected Washington State Superior Courts, including: Chelan, Columbia, Franklin, Island, Jefferson, Kitsap, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Spokane, and Walla Walla Counties.

Free access to the civil and criminal Washington Pattern Jury Instructions from the Washington Supreme Court Committee on Jury Instructions.

Court website includes slip opinions, forms, court rules, legal guides, and more.

Court website includes local rules, general orders, forms, jury instructions, and more.

Court website includes local rules, general orders, forms, jury instructions, and more.

Provides links to court websites for each state, maintained by the National Center for State Courts (NCSC).