Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subscription Databases to Access Washington Law Primary and Secondary Resources and Forms
An extensive collection of legal resources, news, business and public record information.
A comprehensive collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal, state and limited foreign case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, digests, reference publications, and full text legal periodicals, newsletters, newspapers, and publications; also other non-legal topical reference aids, indexes, digests, and full text periodicals, newsletters and newspapers are included.
Comprehensive searchable database of primary and secondary United States legal materials. Includes laws, statutes, commentary, company and market information, and news.
Washington Case Reporters
Washington cases are reported in the following reporters:
Supreme Court: Washington Reports, Washington Reports 2d.
Court of Appeals: Washington Appellate Reports
When citing Washington cases to Washington courts, follow the Reporter of Decisions Style Sheet, which uses different abbreviations for Washington court reports:
- Washington Reports = Wash.
- Washington Reports, 2d = Wn.2d
- Washington Appellate Reports = Wn. App.
Legal Treatises & Deskbooks
Washington Practice by
Call Number: Reserve KFW80.W32
Publication Date: Updated regularly
Washington Practice is a comprehensive multi-volume set covering topics such as civil procedure, contracts, evidence, family law, landlord-tenant law, criminal procedure and tort law. A general index is located at the end of the set. In addition to expert analysis and numerous citations to Washington primary materials, there are many legal forms that can assist in drafting pleadings and other legal documents.
The Washington State Bar Association publishes deskbooks on various topics. Many practitioners prefer the deskbooks to Washington Practice because the tone is very practitioner-oriented. In addition to an analysis of the law, the deskbooks give practical pointers on common problems that crop up for a particular issue. The Civil Procedure Deskbook, the Appellate Practice Deskbook, and the Real Property Deskbook are among some of the most widely used. The deskbooks are available in print in the Reserve area of the library or online via CasemakerX.
Washington Lawyers Practice Manual
Call Number: LAW-Reserve KFW80.W27
Although the textual analysis is fairly minimal, there is a generous supply of checklists and forms to help the practitioner.
The Washington State Law Library (WSLL) has compiled a research guide with helpful links to Washington Forms, including a link to The Washington State Court Forms website, which provides a list of forms that are used statewide in Washington Courts. It includes many mandatory forms used in family law (divorce, child support, parenting plans, relocation, domestic violence, etc.) as well as other forms dealing with bankruptcy, garnishment, small claims, criminal law, juvenile offenders, and guardianship.
The WSLL's research guide also discusses forms required by local courts and State agencies.
You can also find forms on Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg.
Washington State Law Library Research Guide
The Washington State Law Library provides a comprehensive research guide for sources related to Washington State law.
Revised Code of Washington
The Revised Code of Washington (RCW) is the compilation of all permanent laws now in force. It is a collection of Session Laws (enacted by the Legislature, and signed by the Governor, or enacted via the initiative process), arranged by topic, with amendments added and repealed laws removed. It does not include temporary laws such as appropriations acts.
The print version of the RCW that contains the certificate of the Statute Law Committee is considered the official code (see RCW 1.08.040 The RCW is also available online at the Washington State Legislature's website.
Annotated versions of the RCW are available on Westlaw and Lexis, although the editorial enhancements are not as robust as annotated versions of the U.S. Code.
West's Revised Code of Washington Annotated
Call Number: LAW-Reference & LAW-3rd Floor Washington Range 2A, 3B
Washington Statutes: Finding Tools
The Washington State Constitution by
Publication Date: 2013-04-11