Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For additional information on U.S. Constitutional Law research and current issues facing the U.S. Supreme Court, check out the following links:
Electronic version of U.S. Constitution hosted by the Legal Information Institute.
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation, produced by Congress, contains legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution, based primarily on Supreme Court case law. This regularly updated resource is especially useful when researching the constitutional implications of a specific issue or topic.
Constitutional Law and History Research Guide
Research guide prepared by Georgetown University Law Center Library
The Oyez Project
The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work.
SCOTUSblog is a popular law blog that tracks cases before the Court from the certiorari stage through the merits stage.
Searchable Supreme Court oral argument database on the Internet.
Supreme Court Database
The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for those interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court since 1946.
Comprehensive Constitutional Law Treatises in the Law Library
Here are a few study guides and treatises, presenting doctrine and analysis of constitutional decisions, available for check out in the law library
Constitutional Law by
Call Number: LAW-Reserve, KF4550.C427
Publication Date: 2006-07-26
Chemerinsky presents a thorough analysis of constitutional law and doctrine, covering cases from beginning and advanced courses, explaining case rulings and reasoning.
Hornbook on Constitutional Law by
Call Number: LAW-Reserve, KF4550.N6
Publication Date: 2010
A comprehensive treatise, with succinct and authoritative coverage of constitutional principles.
American Constitutional Law by
Call Number: LAW-Reserve, KF4550.T785
Publication Date: 2000
While somewhat dated, and famously incomplete (the second volume on individual liberties remains in its 1988 2nd ed.), this constitutional law treatise from a liberal perspective remains highly influential.
Constitutional Theory by
Call Number: LAW-4th Floor, KF4550.G467
Publication Date: 2007
Covering the central debates surrounding constitutional theory, this text prepares students to analyze the connection between theory and practice.