Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
The Revised Code of Washington is the topical compilation of Washington state laws. Session law citations are located at the end of each section in brackets. This will tell you when the statute was originally enacted and the subsequent amendments, if any.
In some cases, the legislature will include a section describing the general legislative intent. Such a section will most likely be found at the beginning of the chapter. The section is sometimes called "legislative findings, intent" or "legislative findings, purpose".
The session laws of Washington are published in the Session Laws of Washington and contain the bill number and the text of bills as passed by the state legislature. The bill number is listed in the table of contents or you can find it on the first page of the relevant chapter (in brackets). This publication is helpful in determining what text was added, amended or deleted by the legislature during the particular session.
- Check T1 in the Bluebook for the approved statutory compilation ("code").
- The Bluebook rule for putting the date (the year) on a citation to a code section requires that you use the printed version of the code. This is because the required date for a code section is neither the year the section was enacted, nor the current year in which it is in force, but rather: "the year that appears on the spine of the volume, the year that appears on the title page, or the latest copyright year—in that order of preference." (See Bluebook Rule 12.3.2)
United States Statutes at Large
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Historical and selected current coverage of major law journals. Also contains the Federal Register, Treaties, United States Reports, United States Attorney General Opinions, and selected historical law books considered "legal classics." Also provides access to the U.S. Congressional Documents Collection featuring the bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important congressional material and the U.S. Federal Agency Library of selected agency decisions.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal, state and limited foreign case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, digests, reference publications, and full text legal periodicals, newsletters, newspapers, and publications; also other non-legal topical reference aids, indexes, digests, and full text periodicals, newsletters and newspapers are included.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of legal resources, news, business and public record information.
Statutes and Legislative History in Other States
PDF: HeinOnline (coverage varies by state).
Microfiche: Law Library, Micromedia room, 2nd floor (coverage varies by state).
Print: Some older session laws for some states are available at the Gallagher Law library at the UW School of Law (coverage varies by state and is very limited-check catalog).
PDF: State legislature websites may link to PDF versions of state statutes. The Law Librarians' Society of Washington D.C. maintains a list of links to state statutes (coverage varies by state).
Microfiche: Law Library, Micromedia room, second floor (coverage varies by state).
Print: Annotated versions of state statutes, which may be official, and some older editions of the official statutes of certain states are available in the Reference stacks on the 2nd floor of the Law Library (coverage of older editions varies by state).
Primary Sources Books
United States Code
Call Number: LAW-Reference Range 2C
United States Code Annotated
Call Number: LAW-Reference Range 2B
United States Code Service
Call Number: LAW-Reference Range 2B-2C
Federal Civil Judicial Procedure and Rules
Call Number: LAW-4th Floor KF8816.A193
Revised Code of Washington Annotated
Call Number: LAW-Reference & LAW-3rd Floor Range 3B
Annotated Revised Code of Washington
Call Number: LAW-Reference Range 2A
Washington Court Rules: State
Call Number: LAW-Reserve KFW529.A317A2
Revised Code of Washington by
Call Number: LAW-Reference & LAW-3rd Floor Range 2A, Range 3A, Range 3B, Range 2G