Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Legal Articles Using Subscription Databases
Several of the law library databases are useful for locating legal articles. Recall that your goal in cite-checking is to locate a reliable source, and that print and pdf is preferred. Note that HeinOnline provides PDF versions of journal articles. If you are unsure of the source of a citation, you could try some of the databases that have related content such as:
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline includes PDF copies of journal articles.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
Find citations to legal journal and law review articles.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Find citations to legal journal and law review articles. Includes some full text articles.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal, state and limited foreign case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, digests, reference publications, and full text legal periodicals, newsletters, newspapers, and publications; also other non-legal topical reference aids, indexes, digests, and full text periodicals, newsletters and newspapers are included.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of legal resources, news, business and public record information.
Finding Articles Using Free Online Sources