LawLibGuides: 50 State Surveys of Law: Home

50 State Surveys

A veritable bonanza for legal researchers is finding work that has already been done. Here are some quick links for finding 50 State Surveys where the law in each state on a given topic has already been collected.

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal, state and limited foreign case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, digests, reference publications, and full text legal periodicals, newsletters, newspapers, and publications; also other non-legal topical reference aids, indexes, digests, and full text periodicals, newsletters and newspapers are included.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of legal resources, news, business and public record information.

Additional Resources

Agencies and organizations often compile surveys of relevant laws.

The State Law Clearinghouse

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Historical and selected current coverage of major law journals. Also contains the Federal Register, Treaties, United States Reports, United States Attorney General Opinions, and selected historical law books considered "legal classics." Also provides access to the U.S. Congressional Documents Collection featuring the bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important congressional material and the U.S. Federal Agency Library of selected agency decisions.