LawLibGuides: Dockets & Court Documents: Dockets & Court Documents

Getting Started

For efficient docket searching, try to find:

Case information can be found in published decisions, law reviews, treatises, newspapers and advocacy websites.

For an overview of docket research, including how to read a docket, check out this Docket Research guide from Yale Law Library.

Lexis CourtLink
Coverage varies by jurisdiction and includes court documents for U.S. Tax Courts, Patent Trial & Appeals Board, Trademark Trial & Appeals Board, U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, and many others.
Westlaw Dockets
Years Covered: Varies by court.
Contents: Docket information on active and inactive civil and criminal cases filed in U.S. District Courts, U.S. Courts of Appeal and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts.
PACER
Official database for searching and viewing federal court dockets and case documents. Please contact a reference librarian to discuss access and the small fee structure that may apply.
Court Listener: RECAP
Free database for searching federal court dockets and documents pulled from PACER. Coverage is not comprehensive, but this is an excellent starting point. See Background section at bottom of RECAP website for more information.
Justia Docket Search
2004-present
Free searchable and browsable index with links to PACER.

Lexis Briefs
Briefs, pleadings, motions, and other court documents for state and federal courts.
Westlaw Briefs
1970-present: varies by jurisdiction
Federal and state court briefs, briefs by topic.
Westlaw Trial Court Documents
Coverage begins in 2000 and includes Washington civil court documents.

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals
Court website includes slip opinions, forms, court rules, legal guides, and more.
Eastern District of Washington
Court website includes local rules, general orders, forms, jury instructions, and more.
Western District of Washington
Court website includes local rules, general orders, forms, jury instructions, and more.

Lexis CourtLink
Coverage varies by jurisdiction.
Westlaw Dockets
Years Covered: Varies by court.
Contents: Docket information on active and inactive civil and criminal cases filed in U.S. District Courts, U.S. Courts of Appeal and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts.
Washington Courts Case Search
Best for municipal, district, and appellate court dockets. Includes option to search across all Washington courts by party name.
Washington Superior Courts Case Search: Odyssey Portal
Search and view dockets for all Washington Superior Courts except King and Pierce County.
King County Superior Court Dockets: KC Script Portal
Search and view dockets from King County Superior Court for free. Low-cost options for purchasing and viewing case documents online are available as well.
Pierce County Superior Court Dockets: LINX
Search and view dockets from Pierce County Superior Court for free. Attorneys can register for a subscription to view, print, and download case documents.

Lexis Briefs
Briefs, pleadings, motions, and other court documents for state and federal courts.
Lexis Trial Court Orders
Coverage includes Washington Superior Court Trial Orders.
Westlaw Trial Court Documents
Coverage begins in 2000 and includes Washington civil court documents.
Westlaw Civil Trial Court Orders
Coverage begins with 2001and includes Washington Civil Trial Court Orders.
Westlaw Washington Criminal Trial Court Orders
Coverage begins with 2003 and includes Washington Criminal Trial Court Orders.
Washington State Court Briefs
Free access to briefs from the Washington State Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.
Washington Digital Archives: Superior Court Cases
Low cost online access to court documents from selected Washington State Superior Courts, including: Chelan, Columbia, Franklin, Island, Jefferson, Kitsap, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Spokane, and Walla Walla Counties.
Washington Pattern Jury Instructions
Free access to the civil and criminal Washington Pattern Jury Instructions from the Washington Supreme Court Committee on Jury Instructions.