Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

1L Library Resources and Information: Home

Welcome summer 1Ls!

Password Information

Westlaw (with TWEN access), Lexis+, Bloomberg Law, CALI and Quimbee passwords are emailed before classes start. Contact Stephanie Wilson with any questions.

The library has two Lexis printers that you can use to print content from Lexis databases. The Lexis video (Video Tutorials tab) shows how to configure your laptop to use these printers.

Need help registering for Westlaw/TWEN and Lexis+?

The short videos on the next tab will help you register for Westlaw, set up TWEN, register Lexis+, and configure your laptop for the Lexis printers.

These short videos will help you register for Westlaw, set up TWEN, register Lexis+, and set up printing on the Lexis printers.

Public Services Law Library Staff

Our reference librarians have practiced law and spent many years teaching students, alumni, and lawyers how to research. We love working with students and are available to help you via email, Zoom, or over the phone. Check our hours for specific availability.  Here are the hours when you can reach us during the summer:

Monday - Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Read about us here:

Kerry Fitz-Gerald

LeighAnne Thompson

Stephanie Wilson

Our circulation staff love working with students. They can help you check out materials, troubleshoot database problems, sign up for a study room, or find material. Contact them at lawcirc@seattleu.edu.

Study Aids & Resources

Online Study Aids

Use the Study Aids guide to browse all available study aids by series (Questions & Answers, Nutshells, etc.), by subject, or for exam prep.

Quimbee

Quimbee is a law school study aids site providing access to searchable, expert written case briefs, outlines, an outlining tool, on-demand videos, practice questions with answer explanations, practice exams and model answers among other tools. To sign up, click the link above and follow the instructions to create an account using your seattleu.edu email address. 

Register here (use your Seattle University email). Already have an account? Contact Quimbee using the chat widget or via email at support@quimbee.com and they will move your account over to the institutional subscription.

Digital Library

Digital Library lets you read, highlight, and annotate casebooks and study aids from a variety of publishers, including the popular Questions & AnswersUnderstandingNutshell, and Short & Happy study aid series. This resource is growing, so please check back for newly-added titles and series.

CALI

Short for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction, CALI provides online study lessons and podcasts about all law school course topics. You will need a registration code to access CALI. Send an email to lawreference@seattleu.edu requesting the CALI code to register.

Other Online Resources

Library Homepage and Catalog

Our library homepage is the access point to find e-books, online resources, and print materials in the SU Law Library, SU's Lemieux Library, and libraries in our inter-library loan systems.  Online items can be checked out with your SU email address and password. 

Law Library Research Guides

We maintain 37 unique online guides about researching specific topics and to help you research successfully in externships, summer jobs, and as law journal staff. Be sure to check and bookmark our newest guide: library services during the COVID-19 pandemic.  We will use this guide to keep you informed about any changes to library access and services. 

Law Databases

The Law Library also provides you with specialized research databases. View the complete list on our databases page.

Print Study Aids

For information about print study aids, see our print study aids guide.

Exam Taking Resources

Prepare for exams with our exam taking resources guide.

The law library has copies of all 1L course textbooks that you can use when your copy is unavailable. (We do not have copies of upper division course books.) Find your textbook by running a title search in the library catalog.  The checkout period is either 2 hours or overnight.

Borrowing Books

Once you find a book or two you want to borrow, send an email with the title and other information to our circulation staff at lawcirc@seattleu.edu.

  • You will receive an email when your books are ready to pick up. The email will tell you when the books are due.
    • Note: Due to COVID-19, we’ve increased the amount of time you can keep print study aids from our Reserve collection.  All study aids listed as 2 hour checkout are now available for 24 hours.
  • Visit the hold shelf located right outside the library entrance on the second floor of Sullivan Hall. Take your books home or wherever you like to study.
  • Return your books to the book cart located right outside the library entrance.

Studying in the Library (see note for summer 1Ls!)

Law Library is open for individual student study:

  • The 3rd and 4th floor study areas are open daily. Check our hours here. "Reading Room" means places where you can study.
  • Study rooms are also available for individual study. They need to be reserved in advance (your reservation cannot exceed 2 hours).

Note for summer 1Ls: You'll need a campus ID card to enter the law school and the law library.  The process to get your card will be available by June 7th. Please contact Stephanie Wilson at wilsons3@seattleu.edu with any questions. 

Procedures

Before you arrive:

  • Take a COVID test and upload your results to the SU Student Health Center Online Patient Portal.
  • Complete the online health screening prior to entering Sullivan Hall. (The screening must be completed each day before entering the building.)
  • You will need to wear a face covering the entire time you are in Sullivan Hall or the Law Library. You will also need to maintain social distancing while in the building.

When you arrive:

  • Enter the building by swiping your campus ID card. (Summer 1Ls will be able to get campus ID cards very soon!)
  • Socially distance from other students. There will be a sign-in sheet on each floor. Fill in your name and arrival time. (You will also need to sign out on this sheet when you leave.)
  • Pick up wipes or other cleaning materials from a sanitation station. Bring them to your study area. Wipe down your study space before you use it.
  • When you finish studying, wipe down the study space, and sign out.

Printing, Photocopying, and Scanning

Library Printers

The Law Library's Document Delivery Center (DDC) is located right inside the law library entrance and has two printers and one photocopier/scanner students can use.  We also have a printer for students on the third floor. 

To use the library printers you must first take your laptop to the Law School Technology and Media Services office so they can configure your laptop. This process will take about ten minutes. Their office is room 311 in the law school building.  Call 206-398-4178 to schedule a time; check their hours here.

Once your laptop is configured you can send a print job to the library printers, then stop by the law library to pick up your printouts in the DDC or from the 3rd floor printer.

Lexis+ Printers

The law library also has two Lexis+ printers located in the DDC. These printers can be used to print content from Lexis+, such as cases, articles, or the section of a statute.

  • Once you have something on Lexis+ you want to print, select the print icon, check off your selections and hit print.  A pop-up window will appear with printer options. Select the Lexis printer and your printouts will be sent to the Lexis+ printers in the DDC.
  • Stop by the law library and visit the DDC to pick up your print outs.