Skip to main content

Online Self-Study Resources: Home

Online Self-Study Resources

Seattle University Law Library provides the following self-study resources to support online learning. In addition to the below resources, the Law Library also provides access to a number of specialized databases containing legal scholarship. You can view the complete list on our databases page. 

Librarians are working remotely and are available via email, phone, or Zoom to help students or faculty with research related questions. You can reach out to any of us individually, or contact us using our LawReference@seattleu.edu email address. 

 

Many of these resources are accessed through our proxy server. This can sometimes be problematic for users working from behind firewalls or with particular internet security providers. If you are having trouble reaching library resources, please see this guide for troubleshooting remote access to articles and databases. 

Study Aids, including text, audio & video lectures, and self-quizzing tools

West Academic Study Aids Package 

**West Academic has generously extended this resource at no cost to support students during the COVID-19 outbreak.  Access is granted until June 1, 2020.**

 

This database provides access to more than 500 popular study aids, including the Acing series, Gilbert outlines, Nutshells, Concise Hornbooks, e-flashcards and Sum & Substance Audio lectures.

 

If you would like, you can personalize your experience by creating a West Academic account which will allow you to take notes, highlight, save favorites, download titles for offline access, and more. To create an account, 

1. Go here.  

2. Click ‘Create an Account’ in the upper right-hand corner and follow the prompts; make sure you use your SU email address  

3. Setup your account, sign-in and verify your school email address  

 

Need help? Contact West Academic Technical Support at 877-888-1330, select option #4 or email  support@westacademic.com.   

West Academic Assessment

**West Academic has generously extended this resource at no cost to support students during the COVID-19 outbreak.  Access is granted until June 1, 2020.**

This platform includes over 5,000 formative multiple choice, short answer and essay self-assessment questions covering 20 subjects. These may be assigned by faculty or students may access them on their own. From the homepage, either Create an Account(or Sign In if you've already created an account with West Academic).  Be sure to use your law school email address when creating an account.  You will receive a verification link in the inbox of the email address you used to sign up.  Before you get started, you’ll need to verify your account by clicking the link in the email you received. 

 

 

1. Once you are logged in, look for the "Q" quiz icon located below “Materials Provided by My School” and click on “Add     a Quiz”.   

2. Here you will find the subjects for which there are available quizzes.  Select the subject of the quiz you would like to add to your bookshelf and click “next”.  

3. Some quizzes are keyed to a specific casebook.  If your casebook is not listed, select the first entry in the list “Do not key to a specific casebook” and click “Add Quizzes to Bookshelf”.  You may add multiple quizzes to your bookshelf. 

 

If your professor creates a course, you will receive an email with instructions for how to take a quiz.  If you need help, contact 877-888-1330.

 

Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library

**Wolters Kluwer has generously extended this resource at no cost to support students during the COVID-19 outbreak. Access is granted until July 1, 2020.**

This subscription gives you access to nearly 200 popular study aids including Examples and Explanations, Glannon Guides, Emanuel Law Outlines and it includes over 200 videos with coverage of 21 course areas. You must access the platform through the SU proxy server by using this linkOnce you are logged in through the proxy server, you can create a personal account that will allow you to take notes or add highlights or bookmarks. Even after creating a personal account, you will need to access the platform through the above proxied link. Additional information was sent to students via email; if you would like this resent, please contact lawreference@seattleu.edu.

Quimbee

Quimbee is a law school study aids site providing access to searchable, expert written case briefs, outlines, an outlining tool, on-demand videos, practice questions with answer explanations, practice exams and model answers among other tools. For access, go here  and create an account using your Seattle University email. 

CALI

Short for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction, CALI provides an extensive series of online lessons created by law faculty and librarians around the country. The collection also includes numerous podcasts on topics of interest to 1Ls as well as upper division students. If you do not currently have CALI access, contact lawreference@seattleu.edu for the CALI access code. 

Instructional Webinars and CLEs

LegalEd  

LegalEd is “is a networked community of law professors, practitioners, judges, law students and others using online technologies to advance learning about the law.” The site includes numerous videos on a range of topics suitable for all levels of instruction. Use by faculty or students requires free registration.  

Lexis Webinar Center

The Lexis Webinar Center is a collection of short, on-demand webinars geared primarily towards practitioners available after free registration. 

WestLegalEd Center

WestLegalEd Center is a collection of on-demand CLEs in webinar format. Before using WestLegalEd Center, you must register using this linkBe sure the email you use is the one currently tied to your Westlaw OnePass. You can confirm that email here.  

Bloomberg Law Training Resources 

The Bloomberg Law Training Resources include research training videos as well as topical area webinars. If you do not have Bloomberg accounts, you can create them by going to this link and creating an academic account using your Seattle University email. It will take about 24 hours—for faster access please contact lawreference@seattleu.edu for an activation code. 

 

E-Text Books

Some of the major casebook/textbook publishers are providing limited access to e-book versions of required course materials. See below for publisher specific information.

Carolina Academic Press

Carolina Academic Press will be working with faculty to distribute time-limited ebook access to their students. If you need an ebook access code, please contact your professor and ask them to email the library at lawreference@seattleu.edu for assistance.

Lexis

If necessary, students may request time limited access to e-book versions of some casebooks. Call 800-833-9844 to see if your casebook is eligible.

West Academic Textbooks

If necessary, students may request temporary online access to required course materials published by West. You must first create an ebook account here and then call 877-888-1330 for assistance in setting up your e-books.

Wolters Kluwer

Information about Wolters Kluwer's textbook program may be found at https://www.wklegaledu.com/resources/covid-19-law-school-resources

Online Bluebook - 60 Day Trial

Seattle University Law Library received keys so students could register for 60 free days of the Bluebook Online. These were individually emailed to students on March 20th. If you did not receive a key or are having problems, please email lawreference@seattleu.edu for assistance.