Law Library Locations

Reserve

The most popular library materials are located in the Reserve room behind the Circulation Desk, including:

• Study aids: Nutshells, Hornbooks, Examples & Explanations, Gilbert, Emmanuel, Q&A, Glannon
• Course reserves
• Videos/DVDs
• Current looseleaf services
• ALI Restatements
• Form books
• Practice aids: Washington Practice series, Washington Lawyers Practice Manual, deskbooks and court rules
• Current Washington statutes, regulations and legislative history materials

Multilingual Law Student Collection

This collection includes material about U.S. legal analysis and writing, law school study, U.S. legal history, and works about "legal English," the sentence construction, words, and phrases used in domestic law practice. The collection also has several law dictionaries that translate U.S. legal terms into Spanish, Chinese, German, French, and other languages.

Culp Collection

Located on the first two stacks in the Reserve room.

Micromedia Room

Located within the Reserve room, it contains the microfiche/microfilm collection along with the microform machines and video/DVD viewing stations. The collection includes the following materials:

• International, federal and state materials
• Bar journals
• Washington Briefs
• UN documents

Walkover & McNaughton Collections

Located in the alcove under the stairs on the main floor of the library. Recreational reading: fiction and non-fiction selections.

In addition to carrels and study rooms, the third floor of the library houses the following materials:

• SU law community author collection
• Washington-based law journals and reviews
• Washington case law and digests
• Federal materials: United States Code, United States Code Annotated (USCA), United States Code Service (USCS), Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), CIS, American Jurisprudence (AmJur 2d), Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS)
• Federal case law and digests
• State codes
• Superseded Washington materials
• The Pacific Digest and Reports
• American Law Reports (ALR)
• Treatises (Call numbers A - KEZ)

The 4th floor is a designated quiet zone with many carrels and study rooms. Materials housed there include:

• Treatises (Call numbers KF - Z)
• Washington CLE materials

Take the library elevator down to the basement to access the following materials:

• Older law reviews and journals
• Washington primary materials
• Legal journal indices
• General and Decennial Digests
• Commonwealth materials
• Archival materials
• Rare books