Introduction to Journal Staff Work
Overview of Journal Staff Work
The newer members of a law journal staff, the 2Ls, typically write a note or comment of publishable quality and cite-check the articles that are being published by the law journal.
The 3Ls serve as editors and fill the senior editorial staff positions, including senior articles editor, senior note & comment editor, senior managing editor and, editor-in-chief of the law review. The editors review and select articles for publication, manage the editing process, and assist the 2Ls in writing their notes and comment
This Journal Staff Research Guide is intended to assist journal members in through the steps of writing, cite-checking and editing articles.
Table of Contents
For more information on these topics either select the appropriate tab above or click on the link in the table of contents below.
-
Home
- Overview of Journal Staff Work
- Table of Contents
- Contact Us
-
Getting Started--Topics
- Reference Books for Writing Journal Articles, Comments or Notes
- Tips on Finding and Selecting Topic for a Note, Comment or Law School Paper
- Articles on Writing Journal Articles, Comments or Notes
- Tools for Finding and Selecting Topic for a Note, Comment or Law School Paper
- Tools-Current Awareness Resources
- More Guides from the Law Library
-
Preemption Check
- Links to Resource Pages for doing a Preemption Check
- The What, Why and How of a Preemption Check
- Additional Information
- Finding Articles
- Preemption Checking using Full-Text Sources for Legal Articles
- Preemption Checking using Indexes of Legal Articles
- Preemption Checking Non-Law Articles
- Finding Books and Chapters
- Links to Catalogs
- Finding Books and Chapters
- Additional Information
- Databases and Current Awareness Tools for Preemption Checks
- Electronic Databases for Preemption Checks
- Current Awareness Tools For Preemption Checks
- Additional Preemption Check Resources
- Librarian and Staff Contacts
- Additional Information
- Lexis and Westlaw Training
-
Locating and Borrowing Reference Materials
- What's In the Law Library
- Links for Looking Beyond the Law Library to Find Reference Materials
- Searching Summit Summit
- Searching Summit
- Additional Information
- Interlibrary Loan Loan
- What is Interlibrary Loan?
- How to Request an Interlibrary Loan
- Databases
- Law Library Subscription Databases
- Lemieux Library Subscription Databases
- Free online sources
-
Cite and Source Tools and Tips
- Links to Resources for Cite and Source Work
- Overview of Cite and Source Work
- Books
- Law and Lemieux Libraries
- Links to Catalogs
- Searching Summit Library Consortium Catalog
- Articles
- Finding Legal Article using Subscription Databases
- Finding Non-Law Articles
- Finding Articles Using Free Online Sources
- Database Guides
- Cases and Court Document
- Finding Cases
- Finding Court Documents using Subscription Services
- Finding Court Documents using Free Sources
- Statutes and legislative history
- Federal
- Washington State
- Other States
- Regulations and Agency Documents
- Federal
- Washington State
- Other states
- Treaties and International Agreements
- Comprehensive Sites/Portals
- Treaties
- Additional Information
-
Tools for Writing and Editing an Article
- Books about Academic Writing
- Articles about Writing a Note or Comment
- Books about Usage, Style and Editing of Legal Writing
Contact Us
Appointments
Barbara Swatt Engstrom is the primary contact librarian for the Seattle Journal of Environmental Law.
Kelly Kunsch is the primary contact librarian for American Indian Law Journal, Seattle Journal for Social Justice, Seattle University Law Review.
Reference librarians are available either at the reference desk or by appointment. Use the staff directory to contact a librarian to schedule a convenient meeting time.
Reference Desk
The reference desk is located to the left as you enter the library. This desk is staffed by experienced reference librarians. They are available to assist with research questions.
Other questions--see Get Help-Whom do I ask about the following?


Loading...
