- Aboriginal Connections.com
A searchable annotated web directory related to indigenous peoples worldwide.
The link connects you to the section of the website focused on the United States.
There is a wide variety of information available on this website.
- Aboriginal Connections.com Law Index
This section of the website deals with Native American legal research in particular.
- Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians (ATNI)
Non-Profit organization of 57 northwest tribal governments that's dedicated to tribal self-determination and self-sufficiency. The website is meant to share information on matters of interest to member tribes, assist tribes with government and programming development, and provide education to members of the non- Indian community.
- Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN)
AFN is the largest statewide Native organization in Alaska and is dedicated to enhancing and promoting the cultural, economic and political voice of the Alaska Native Community.
- Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)
The BIA is responsible for the administration and management of lands held in
trust by the US government for Indian tribes and Alaska Native Natives. Website also has a link to the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE), which provides educational services to approximately 42,000 Indian students.
- Bureau of Indian Affairs' BIE link
Link to the Tribal Leaders and BIA Representatives Directory. Contains contact information for Tribal Leaders throughout the US, BIA officials and offices, and the Federal Register Notices of both Indian Entities recognized and eligible to receive services from the BIA, and designated Tribal Agents eligible to receive service of notice.
- Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law
Available for purchase online or at various retailers. The go-to reference for all matters concerning federal Indian law. Although not an ideal resource for narrow subject areas, it is the most comprehensive and a great reference book.
- Columbia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission (CRITFC)
CRITFC is an association of four northwest tribes (Nez Perce, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Reservation, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation, and Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Indian Nation) that coordinates fish management policies on the Columbia River.
- Department of the Interior (DOI) - Native Americans
Website contains information on economic development, education, law enforcement, tribal governments, ancestry, the trust relationship, and on various services provided for Native peoples by the DOI.
- Department of the Interior (DOI) Library - Native Americans
Connection to the Department of the Interior's Library -- the Native American section. This is a very valuable resource, with links to electronic books, websites, news services, tribal governments, and other Native American associations.
- Department of the Interior (DOI) - Office of the Solicitor
Link to opinions issued by the DOI, Office of the Solicitor, from 1993 until the present. Many of these opinions deal with issues involving Native American or Alaskan Native rights and legal status.
- EarthJustice - Native Hawaiians, Community Protest Army Failure to Remove Bomb from Makua
The EarthJustice organization works in partnership with Native Hawaiian and Native Alaskan groups on environmental matters. There are various news articles/updates on these campaigns.
- EarthJustice - Earthjustice, Alaska Natives Protest Drilling Plans in Beaufort Sea
- EarthJustice - Mid-Pacific (Hawaii) Office
- EarthJustice - Alaska Office
- Gallagher Law Library Indian Law Resource Center at University of Washington School of Law
Lists sources for US Indian law research. Materials are available to current SU students through Summit. As an alumni, however, materials are only available to those physically within the UW law library, and there are certain restrictions on check-out ability.
- Indian Country Today
News, both national and international.
- Indian Health Service (IHS)
IHS, a department within the Department of Health and Human Services (DSHS), is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. IHS is the principal federal health care provider and health advocate for Indian people in the US. Website contains lots of information pertinent to American Indian and Alaska Native health policy and programs.
- Indian Health Service (IHS) - External Links
Great list of external links available through IHS.
- Indian Land Tenure Foundation (ILTF)
ILTF is a community-based non-profit organization that focuses on the recovery, management and control of Indian lands by Indian people. The website has a wide variety of information related to the status and history of Indian lands.
Website provides a wide range of information and news from a Native American perspective, including updates on pending legal action and job opportunities within Indian Country.
- Interior Board of Indian Appeals (IBIA) Decisions and Related Papers
The IBIA is an appellate review body whose administrative judges decide appeals from a wide range of decisions rendered by the BIA, such as those concerning tribal government disputes, economic development matters, treaty rights, leases and rights of way on Indian lands, taking lands into trust, trespass actions, and land sales, encumbrances and exchanges. IBIA also decides appeals from Indian probate cases adjudicated by administrative law judges and Indian probate judges.
- Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
The IRS website provides tax information for Tribal governments.