Global Privacy Laws - Law & Technology - Research Resources & Current Awareness - LawLibGuides at Seattle University School of Law Library

Global Tables of Data Privacy Laws and Bills

Graham Greenleaf Table - Global Tables of Privacy Laws and Bills
This document sets out the details of 132 global data privacy laws. It also includes the international agreements relevant to them, and the data protection authorities (DPAs) administering them.
Greenleaf, Graham, Global Tables of Data Privacy Laws and Bills (6th Ed 2019) (February 9, 2019). 157 Privacy Laws & Business International Report.
Graham Greenleaf Article - Global Data Privacy Laws 2019
This article analyzes the data in the summary tables linked above.
Greenleaf, Graham, Global Data Privacy Laws 2019: 132 National Laws & Many Bills (February 8, 2019). (2019) 157 Privacy Laws & Business International Report, 14-18.

International Privacy Law Library

International Privacy Law Library (WorldLII)
This project aims to make searchable from one location all of the databases specializing in Privacy law available on the Legal Information Institute. Resources include case law, legislation, law reviews and commentary, and international agreements. Note that coverage is limited to select countries and is not complete.

Lexology - Data Security and Cybercrime

Lexology - Data Security and Cybercrime
Lexology collaborates with the world's leading lawyers and other thought leaders to deliver tailored updates on a daily basis. The Data Security and Cybercrime section not only provides daily article updates, but the "Navigator" tool also allows users to create comparative reports of various jurisdictions. The platform is free, but requires registration. Users should carefully evaluate the authors of the documents and update information.

Foreign Law Electronic Resources available through the Library

Bloomberg: Privacy & Data Security
The Privacy & Data Security Practice Center includes country profiles for numerous countries. The Chartbuilder tool makes it easy to differentiate laws of various countries. You can also access relevant news articles.
Practical Law: Privacy & Data Security
This section of Practical Law focuses on the data protection regulations of countries. Each country listed has a profile that lists the major regulations regarding data protection, who administers the regulations, special rules, exemptions, etc.
Foreign Law Guide
The Foreign Law Guide provides summaries of the laws of numerous countries.
Global Regulation
The Global Regulation database provides machine-generated English translations of laws, technical standards, and penalties of numerous foreign jurisdictions.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
A subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays.

Electronic Frontier Foundation: International Privacy Standards

Electronic Frontier Foundation: International Privacy Standards
EFF provides a list of international accords related to privacy that serve as the foundation for national laws, policy frameworks, and international agreements throughout the world.

DLA Piper Global Data Protection Laws

DLA Piper Global Data Protection Laws
DLA Piper provides a tool to compare global data protection laws.

Researching Foreign Case Law

Foreign case law is challenging to find, and it is often not available in an English translation. In many countries, court decisions are not considered primary law and there may be no official publication of decisions. Periodicals, news stories, and journals are a recommended source for finding case summaries and citations to new case law. Limited foreign case law is also available through major subscription databases such as Westlaw and Lexis.

GlobaLex

GlobaLex
This free resource provides legal research guides for many countries.