Catalog Help: Home

Tips on how to search the library's holdings for books, eBooks, digital records, images, periodicals, and more.

Primo is coming!

Big changes are on the horizon for Seattle University.

On December 12, the library catalog you have used to search for and borrow library materials will be replaced by a new, improved user interface, called Primo. Primo will search our library collections, databases, and the collections of all our Summit partners.

Information on how to find books, articles and more, using Primo will be coming soon and you can keep up with it on our FAQ page!

Catalog Research Guide Table of Contents

For more information on these topics either select the appropriate tab above or click on the link in the table of contents below.

  • Home

    • Catalog Research Guide Table of Contents
    • What's in the Library Catalog
  • Catalog Search Tips

    • Tips for Basic Catalog Searches
    • Limiting a Catalog Search
    • Beyond Keyword - Other Types of Catalog Searches
    • Library Locations - What Do They Mean?
  • Searching Summit

    • Searching Summit
    • Additional Information
  • Interlibrary Loan

    • What is Interlibrary Loan?
    • How to Request an Interlibrary Loan

What's in the Law Library Catalog

Our OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog) contains the holdings of Seattle University Law Library. You may search catalog on the Internet or use the terminals located behind the Circulation Desk in Open Reserve to search the catalog. For more information refer to the Catalog Search Tips page of the library's research guide.

The law library Catalog provides access to:

  • books, 
  • periodicals,
  • federal and state government documents, 
  • video and audio cassettes, 
  • reference materials, maps, 
  • continuing legal education materials, 
  • law school exams, and 
  • microfiche or microfilm titles

There is a menu option at the top for locating lists of course reserve materials. Under the menu option "Search Course Reserves" you can search by course or professor.

course-reserve

For some books, the catalog information includes the table of contents in a contents note. These contents notes may be searched in the keyword index.

The Catalog provides links to the subscription databases but does not provide access to periodical articles, CLE articles, individual judicial opinions or cases. To find these materials first enter the appropriate database and then search.

You can search the law library and Lemieux library holdings from the law library Catalog.

lemieux and law

To find holdings of other libraries search Summit.